The Worldstrait Books

Book I: Charybda
(Available now on Amazon, Smashwords, and Barnes and Noble)

Nivin has never seen the colors of a sunrise. She has never seen the brilliant green of trees in summertime. She has never even seen her own face. Blind from birth, she has lived seventeen years in a culture where anyone with physical defect meets death by the King’s sword. When she is discovered and flees, she encounters the first thing she has ever seen in her life: a Charybdon, a portal in the form of shimmering ribbons of light. Along with a fellow fugitive, she meets a young man named Brand who seems to be from a different world altogether—a world where the dragon Scylla and a wicked sorcerer hold the lands in an iron grip. Sword and steel have proven worthless against their reign. But even as she unravels the mystical powers of the Charybda, Nivin begins to learn something disturbing about herself. Out of her element in more ways than one, what part can a blind girl play in a centuries-long war?

Book II: Scylla
(Publication TBA)

Brand is a Champion for his people, first and foremost. He has trained in the ways of the sword and survival for his entire life. His life’s destiny has always been to defeat the dragon Scylla and the wicked sorcerer Scyllorin, but a centuries-old secret brings his world crashing down around him. Now, his nation is in deadly peril as an army marches to Council City.  It is only with the help of Nivin, a blind girl from a different world, that he can save his nation from destruction. Nivin’s ability to manipulate the same magic as their foes makes her the only one who could ever hope to stand up against them. But a crisis of ethics and identity holds her back. With so much pressure and hope resting on her shoulders, how can she reconcile her conscience and aid Brand’s people in their time of need?

Read Chapter One of Charybda here.

See maps of the lands of the Worldstrait books here.